The West Indies Cricket Board announced T20 and ODI squads for upcoming series against Pakistan in UAE. Star player Chris Gayle, however, features in neither.

The batsman said he was “unavailable” for selection, while Lendl Simmons missed out due to medical reasons.

The World T20 champions are scheduled to play three 20-over contests and three 50-over matches against Pakistan, followed by a three-match Test series.

West Indies called up opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite to the ODI side for the upcoming series. Brathwaite, who has played 31 Tests since his international debut in 2011, is yet to play an ODI or a T20. Uncapped players allrounder Rovman Powell and wicketkeeper-batsman Nicholas Pooran are also part of the T20 squad.

T20 Squad: Samuel Badree, Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton.

ODI Squad: Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Johnson Charles, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder (captain), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Keiron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels.


23 September: 1st T20 Dubai
24 September: 2nd T20 Dubai
27 September: 3rd T20 Abu Dhabi
30 September: 1st ODI – D/N Sharjah
2 October: 2nd ODI – D/N Sharjah
5 October: 3rd ODI – D/N Abu Dhabi
13-17 October: 1st Test Match – D/N Dubai
21-25 October: 2nd Test Match Abu Dhabi
30 October – 3 November: 3rd Test Match Sharjah

Series Coverage

Pakistan vs West Indies 2016
Pakistan vs West Indies Schedule
Pakistan vs West Indies Squads